Results 1 to 6 of 6
- 05-26-2012, 12:21 PM #1
- Join Date
- May 2012
Veggie Vs Vegan (Different terms explained)
OK, I get a tad confused.
This is what I think a Vegetarian and a Vegan is, if I'm wrong, please correct me
Vegetarian - No meat, may or may not eat Fish, will eat milk and eggs etc.
Vegan - NOTHING from any animal. No meat, fish, no products from an animal (Milk, eggs etc).
Is that right?
What's in Parmesan that vegetarians don't want? Is it the animal fat?
Last edited by juker; 05-29-2012 at 09:35 PM.
- 05-26-2012, 04:56 PM #2
Hope this helps explain the different terms, its a very good question
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.
PESCATARIAN (also spelled pescetarian)
The word “pescatarian” is occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this kind of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone to a fully vegetarian diet.
This grouping includes vegans and the various sub-categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.
Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.
Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.
Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.
Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.
- 05-29-2012, 09:34 PM #3
I have made this thread a sticky (will stay at the top of this area of the forum) because I think a lot of people struggle with the different names and this will be useful
Thankyou Rachel_murray for your brilliant question
- 06-27-2012, 03:22 AM #4
- Join Date
- Jun 2012
yes It is, Vegans are strict vegetarian not eating animals and any foods that came from animals, while vegetarian are those doesn't eat meats but they eat milks cheese.
- 11-06-2012, 07:26 PM #5
As a simple rule of thumb, vegetarians eat "no animals", that means:
No land animals or mammals (eg: lamb, pork, beef, venison)
No feathered animals or birds (eg: chicken, duck, goose)
No marine animals or fish (eg: salmon, cod, mackerel)
Vegans USE "no animal products" whatsoever, that means:
Nothing that came from a mammal (eg: leather, milk or milk byproducts such as cheese or yoghourt)
Nothing that came from a bird (eg: eggs or feathers)
Nothing that came from a fish (eg: caviar or isinglass)
Last edited by Pipsqueak; 11-06-2012 at 07:35 PM.
- 01-29-2013, 06:45 PM #6
- Join Date
- Jan 2013
rennet used to separate the curds from the whey during the production process.
Many/most cheeses produced in the UK are veggie friendly, however, many of our European neighbors use a more 'traditional' method.
A great veggie alternative to Parmesan is Twineham Grange, I believe that it is available from both Waitrose and Sainsburys.